What is your name and what is it you do on the show?
The name of my channel and show is my name, Sage Suppa.

How many episodes and average length of each episode?
There will be, eventually, a great deal of content, at the moment it’s just getting started. I try and keep the length to about 3 or 4 minutes. It could be longer thought, if the adventure I’m on or vlog takes longer to explain. For me length = the about of time it takes to tell all the necessary points of the story (of whatever it is I’m doing).

When was the show conceived? Obstacles to creation?   The show was convinced after I saw the documentary “Please Subscribe” after being invited to Google’s Headquarters in New York City. The documentary followed alot of very successful vloggers through life and day. It showed how they came into vlogging and how they created their content. There was a talk back after words and after seeing the film and listening to them talk I instantly wanted to get involved.

It seems to me that YouTube, vlogging, and content creation is the future of entertainment. And I want to be involved in the start of the future.

What is your show about?  My channel, or show, is a mix of vlogging, poetry, music, and person adventures I go on. The adventures are things like visits to art exhibits in NYC, Volunteering on SI post Hurricane Sandy, and crazy trips I take. I have one of me going to Texa’s coming out soon. That trip garnered some amazing footage. Next weekend I’m headed up to Lake Placid to go skiing and to try some Olympic sports like bobsledding.

The poems I put up are ones that I write and shoot. There are more coming.

In terms of music I play guitar, harmonica, and a little bit of piano. I plan on doing a bunch of covers and original music while collaborating with friends and fellow youtubers. I just haven’t had a chance to film anything yet.

Did you receive funding to create your show or was it entirely out of pocket? What creative ways did you use to overcome budget limits?  The show is entirely out of my own pocket. I pay for all of my trips and point and shoot with my own, small HD camera.

The YouTube next labs in New York City make the process of creating much easier thought. They been an invaluable help and resource. Especially with free classes that help you get your i.q. up in everything from how to use photoshop to learning to read your channels analytics.

In terms of creative ways to over come budget limits, I don’t have any. I really just don’t sleep anymore. I’m either editing, planing, writing or trying to do PR for something I’ve just posted. I wish I could pay someone to edit all the footage I’ve got. I just had to buy a new storage device to put all the backlogged footage somewhere as my computer ran out of room. It’s easy to shoot stuff. It’s harder to put edit it together in an interesting and thought provoking way. Takes time.

Where do you see your series? The future?  I see my channel slowing gaining subscribers and getting bigger. It will be a long process but I’m game. I’d like to keep doing fun adventure stuff. If I were to dream bigger I’d travel a few months out of the year doing this and making videos.

What has been your biggest challenge in creating the series?  Time. And my lack of it. The internet has no memory. And It’s incredibly hard to make things fast enough to keep people interested and still have a something that resembles a life.

I’m an actor, so the struggle, job and money was hard enough before I started doing this. Now it’s kind of like I’ve added to many things to the pile.

I like a challenge though.

Have you taken advantage of any media outlets or festivals? Awards?

I don’t think I have enough of a following or anywhere near enough content to go to festivals.

I am on twitter and facebook. Just signed up for instagram today and have been trying to figure out tumblr for about a month.

Any lessons learned while filming your series?  Tons. The biggest one is to always have a camera on you. You never know what’s going to happen or what your going to see. Especially in New York City.

What advice would you give to one one wanting to start production on a Webseries?  Download and read the latest version of the YouTube creators playbook (it’s free. Google it). Then read it again 10 minutes before you go to bed every night. No joke. Treat it as a holybook. Everything you need to know, beyond the get your hands dirty experiential work that you have to do, is in there. It is the truth. It is the way.

Take a good long look at what everyone else is creating. See what works. See what doesn’t. Watch TONS and TONS of stuff. Then figure out something unique and original. And work tirelessly on it.

Also, help other people out. This is a big one. Really, do other people favors. Your going to need their help eventually.

Don’t be that person that just tries to get other people get views or simply posts in a facebook group. Don’t be the person who says anything negative. Support. Your going to need it to one day. So do it to everyone you come in contact with.

Take the time to talk to people. You are going to need help. It’s extremely important to know people who are doing what you are trying to do. Build a relationship with someone. An honest one. That’s how you get views and gain fans. If your cold and only care about yourself no one is going to like you. Especially your peers. And if your peers don’t like you because your a dick your in trouble. It’s not about you, it’s about the story your trying to tell.

All I’ve ever wanted to do is to tell stories and be around people who like creating. I’m very thankful that right now, I get to tell little stories, and I’m friends with a bunch of creators.

I’ll end with this quote by an acting teacher:
“Love the art in yourself. Not yourself in the art.” – Constantin Stanislavski

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/sagesuppa
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sageyoutube
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/sagesuppa
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/sagespics